Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 13-year-old son just received this gun from his grandfather as a gift, and I want to find more about it

Any information that you can give me would be helpful as to the age of the gun, value, etc.....

1. The serial number is on the butt of gun #270154
2. Pearl Handle
3. I have some of the original bullets from when the gun was purchased.
4. On the left side of the barrel it is stamped 32 Long CTG
5. It is kind of a blue-black finish
6. Push eject empty cartridge
7. See pictures below

Thank you in advance and G-d bless you

Attachments

·
Registered
15,307 Posts
Welcome to the forum. I am far from an expert on these older pre WW1 revolvers but I'll give it a shot. I believe that is a 32 Hand Ejector, 3rd model. Serial number indicates it was made in about 1918. It is built on the no longer made I frame.
The grips appear to be pearl. I don't know much about them except that they can be fragile when old. If those are S&W factory grips, and I suspect they may be, they are quite valuable. The revolver appears to be in great shape, but I really don't know what the value might be these days but I would guess north of $600 plus the value of the grips which may very well be a few hundred if they are indeed factory pearls.
Check back tomorrow and you will have more responses from members more knowledgeable on these

·
Registered
10,136 Posts
Hey Sarge,

Welcome to S&W!

What a great piece of AMERICANA!

Good for you & your son....

(what do I need to do............to get adopted?) LOL

Later, Mark

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
Great condition is right. (y) I sure hope that it's not a re-blue. I'd like to think that was the original finish kept just as nice as could be during all these years. :)

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
Looking at the side plate on the revolver it seems to be a re-finished S&W but still a nice revolver.