Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
10,855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this round. To be honest, it has been off my radar since I never had a gun chambered in it. I actually scoffed at it, truth be known, thinking what was the need? If you needed anything more than a 22 LR than you would go to centerfire, correct?

Especially in a handgun. The conventional wisdom seems to be that the Magnum is wasted in a short barrel. I know some folks who swear by the 22 mag in the NAA as an "always there" defensive load. Hard to believe you would gain much of anything over the standard LR in that situation.

22 Mag in a rifle, I guess I can wrap my head around a bit.All the reading I have done says that this is where the 22 mag shines but I still have that thought in the back of my head about what kind of a performance window does this round fill? Even from a rifle. If a 22 LR is too small for coyote (subjective?) is a 22 Mag all of a sudden just right?

Jessie found me a old model spare 22 mag cylinder that my Single Six was lacking. I just had to find that cylinder somewhere. I never knew I actually needed it, but knowing the gun originally came with one made me have to find one.I got it fitted to the gun and it seems to time just fine. I need to go buy a couple of loadings to try out and it looks like CCI makes the most widely used round, the MaxiMag.

So, what do you folks like, dislike, or just don't care about this cartridge? What are your favorite ammo choices, etc.

Do they make 22 Mag rat shot? That seems to be one place where there is a lot of room for improvement over the standard 22 LR loading.

·
Registered
6,488 Posts
Shaun,

About the only place I've ever been impressed with the .22 Mag was hunting varmints at longer ranges than a .22LR should be used for.... read, killing vermin and feral house pets that used to infest my farm.

The .22 Mag will explode a crow when they get wary and tree out of shotgun range....