Smith And Wesson Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen & ladies, I need your expert opinion. Today I found a .22 kit gun in a red box with the correct serial number in grease pencil on the bottom of the box, 4" barrel, flat latch, period diamond grips not numbered to gun(found no number on either panel), round butt, nickel plating, all tools, no paperwork. Swabs and brushes show use, turn line on cylinder with one small pin head blemish on right side of barrel rib otherwise the finish looks new to me, of course, I'm not an expert. Although this little gun has been fired it shows no abuse and is (Almost)NIB. In your opinion, what is this gun, as described, worth? I tried to trade with the owner but he was sure his gun was worth three of mine, one of my guns is a mod 29-2, nickel 6.5" barrel unfired from factory, S-prefix serial #, wood presentation box, all tools unused. Blue flocking is gone due to S&W & whatever excuse the factory used for the short comings of the time period. I am very reluctant to give him my guns and buy his. Insight please! Thanks for your assistance.

·
Registered
6,488 Posts
Is it a Pre-War Pattern Kitgun? Look for a non-ribbed barrel and a larger headed ejector rod.

If it is an ANIB, Pre War in nickel, is all origional, correct, and you are confident that the box has not been renumbered, the package could worth upwards of $4,000. Maybe more.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #3