Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
Model 27 and Model 19 (early builds)
3,969 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two 1970's Marlin 336 in 30/30 with scopes (a Weaver and a Bushnel). Good hunting guns.

I found this Marlin from 1949 (they started back in 1948 from the war years with the Model 336). It has some honest wear, but the action is good and crisp. It looks stock to me, but I'm no expert. I cleaned it and found little dirt or powder. It has a 3-digit serial number.

I like the post-war guns due to the workmanship. I think it's a good chance that a former G.I. worked on these guns. My oldest S&W is a 1951 pre-27.
Water Grass Wood Roof Metal

Building material Asphalt Event Flooring Metal

·
Premium Member
3,067 Posts
1949... I have it's brother/cousin, also a 3 digit s/n 6xx.

Until the rules were changed in CAS to limited them to handgun calibers, I was using this old soldier in local matches.

It was gifted to me by a relative that got it in trade with a few other guns. He had absolutely no interest in lever guns... so when he asked me if would like to have it, I couldn't blurt out a resounding "yes"' fast or loud enough.

That was almost 40 years ago... jeez, where has time gone?

Looks like the front sight on yours has been changed to a much higher one with a white bead.

Waffle tops and fish belly forends... what's not to love?

As my signature line states, I'm a chronic "Marlinitis" sufferer.

Revolver Trigger Air gun Amber Wood

·
Registered
325 Posts
When I told my buddy that I was going to put some rounds thru my waffle top perch belly, he asked me if I was drinking this morning! I then explained to him what that meant. Just in case you don't know. waffle top comes from the wavy groves on the top of the receiver. It prevents sun glare when you're looking down the barrel. Perch belly comes from the thickness for on the forearm. Just look at the photo above. The Winchester 94 forearm is much thinner and lighter!