Smith And Wesson Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16,682 Posts
Hello everyone. I'm not new to firearms but I am new to older revolvers. I found a smith and Wesson 19-5 with a 2.5 inch barrel for under 300 bucks. The gun is in great shape. I'm just wondering what the actual value of the gun is and any other information anyone has. View attachment 556550
You sure it wasn't a stolen gun?? Those are running in the $750 to $1000 range right now! Wow, what a bargain on a great revolver

·
Premium Member
21,846 Posts
Welcome to the forums from the Wiregrass! Your friend gave you a terrific deal. It would be a terrific deal at twice the price. The grips on it are not original. You might ask your friend if he has the box, papers, tools and original grips. That would be a complete package and up the value.

Reactions: Birdhunter6

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
That is a later version without the pinned barrel. At some point S&W did go the the rubber grips, but I believe yours came with wood. Your gun has a bright blued finish, not the matte finish of the Diplomatic Service gun
Thank you for the info. I'm new to the older ones so it really helps. I didn't know anything about them but when he said he wanted 280 for it I said sold lol

·
Premium Member
21,846 Posts
The grips on your gun are made by Pachmayr, not S&W. As Jonesy says, S&W did put some rubber grips on their M19-7's made by Uncle Mike. Your gun probably looked like this from the factory.

·
Registered
365 Posts
The K frame Combat Magnum was the first .357 Magnum on the medium frame. That made it very popular with peace officers. It became the Model 19 in 1957. Your 19-5 was shipped between 1982 & 88. If you post your serial number we can get you closer. (replace last couple digits with x if you wish.) Yours has the pinned barrel of the earlier -4.