Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By jonesy814
  • 1 Post By mrerick

Thread: Question from a newbie on cleaning a 9mm Shield

Member #
    Liked
    9 times

Question from a newbie on cleaning a 9mm Shield

If I have a new or fully cleaned 9mm Shield, after how many rounds must I strip an lubricate it. I am a newbie and have no clue.
    For example, if I go to the range and fire 100 rounds, would I need a complete cleaning and lube? Should I just clean the bore after a session like that or do nothing? Any advice welcome.

Member #
    Liked
    27994 times
    I am a firm believer in tearing down and cleaning my guns after each range session. For my range guns it may be a while before I take that gun out again and I dont want to forget its dirty. The reasoning for my carry guns always being clean is that my life may depend on the reliable operation of the firearm and I dont want anything that I can help to interfere with that reliability. hat being said there have been a few occasins when I took 3 or 4 guns out and maybe only shot one of them 30 or 40 rounds. If I know I will be shooting within a week I will plan on taking the gun that wasnt shot much and shoot it enough to make it worth cleaning. If you have shot 100 rounds and dont get around to cleaning it, the gun wont be harmed and should perform just fine for 100's of more rounds but if its used for your protection why risk a malfunction? At the very least I would run a patch or 2 down the barrel and wipe down the feed ramp area through the ejection port after each use.
    Welcome to the forum and you've got a great gun in the Shield. Mine is close to 4 years old now and has been 100% reliable. I just had it out on Sunday for run and with 147gr ammunition it puts the holes right where I point it.
    Diabloman likes this.

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    22354 times