SW40VE GUIDE ROD QUESTION
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: SW40VE GUIDE ROD QUESTION

Member #
    Liked
    10 times

SW40VE GUIDE ROD QUESTION

Greetings! Has anybody had any problems after upgrading this firearm to a Steel or Stainless Steel guide rod? I had read somewhere online that people were having problems with the SD Sigma variants breaking frames and wanted to know if it was true, and if this problem could affect the earlier SW40VE? I'm looking at a Wolff steel replacement for the plastic OEM piece. I did a few searches here and couldn't find anything. Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    10550 times
    I have no first hand experience with it, but understand swapping out the plastic is common. I've not heard of a problem with them. Check back later. Someone here will have a definitive answer for you.

Welcome to the forum.
    ~Jerry | https://www.buckeyefirearms.org | http://orpa.net
    Life Member https://www.dav.org/ | NRA Distinguished

Member #
    Liked
    5287 times
    Why to you want to change it?

Many guns have polymer guide rods.
    NRA Certified RSO

4. Remove Advertisements
    SmithAndWessonForums.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    2901 times
    There have been some were the heavier steel guide rod beat up the frame ,others have had no problem . The plastic RSA is fine and you can get an extra one for $12

Member #
    Liked
    55689 times
    Why fix what ain't broke? Especially w/ an "upgrade" they isn't necessarily better?
    "He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment & buy one" Jesus - Luke 22:36

Site Moderator
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    37546 times
    Welcome to the forum!
    Everything that happens is either endurable or not. If it’s endurable, then endure it. Stop complaining. If it’s unendurable . . . then stop complaining. Your destruction will mean its end as well.

Member #
    Liked
    10 times