• 3 Post By Bob K
  • 8 Post By Injunbro
  • 1 Post By jonesy814

Thread: My 66 Went Weird on Me

Member #
    Liked
    7767 times

My 66 Went Weird on Me

I am not the dullest knife in the drawer. I've been shooting and enjoying S&W revolvers since 1980. I've had a few broken hammer noses but nothing more serious.

Last night I was fooling with my 66-2. I has for years had a set of S&W TG's sans aluminum washer that fit well and looked good. Unfortunately, since I broke my left hand, I've not been able to stand the recoil. So I switched to some Pachmayr presentation grips that a fellow board member kindly sent my way. Work great!

I decided to swap that pair of Pachmayr grips with a set that was on my 19-3. Of course all fit just fine. Only rub ... while the 19-3 functioned just fine ... the 66-2 all of a sudden developed signs of push off! SA got incredibly light. No real change w/ DA. Checked and strain screw was properly tight. Took grips off and all returned to normal. Perfectly normal SA/DA w/o grips. So ... swapped everything back to as it was ... everything now works perfectly.

I have just now been cocking the 66. Listening I can hear everything in the revolver moving as expected in cocking, releasing the hammer, lowering the hammer and then letting the trigger reset. In every way it sounds identical to what I hear when I do the same routine w/ the 19-3 and my 15-4.

What gives? Anybody got any ideas? I've never in my life opened up a S&W revolver. If that is necessary I'm going to first have to buy the proper tools. I've always taken good care of my revolvers. Do I need to flush the 66 out with break fluid or WD-40. I looked in my box and have some Balistol but it is not aerosol.

I am now relaxing watching a Randolph Scott movie and chilling out with a "Bomb Pop!" My little four year old g.son loves those things! Is there anything I need to do for my revolver? Sincerely. bruce.
    Thewelshm likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    13809 times