• 1 Post By O4L
  • 2 Post By Mister Dave
  • 1 Post By TN622

Thread: Newbie here. Got a couple questions for my M&P Sport 2

Member #
    Liked
    2 times

Newbie here. Got a couple questions for my M&P Sport 2

Hello everyone. Just purchased my first AR rifle. A S&W M&P15 Sport II. I am a member at my local indoor gun range that is at max, 25 yards. My question is, if in the future I wanted to buy a scope, would it make much of a difference at 25 yards, and if so, what would be some bargain scopes for that distance. Also, would a red dot make sense to purchase if I’m only using this for target shooting at this distance? I plan on getting used to the weapon in its stock form for now, but was just curious for future reference. Thanks in advance for any help. Have a safe and happy new year!
    paulwv and Oldgungeezer like this.

Member #
    Liked
    59231 times
    Welcome to the friendly forum. The whole purpose of a scope is to allow you to see your target better regardless of the distance you're shooting. A red dot simplifies & therefore speeds up target acquisition. You're wise to get used to your rifle before you start modifying it. No modification will make up for lack of practice (although a lot of newbies try that). I have no clue what a good bargain brand would be, for target use only a cheap one would likely be fine but for defense use I'd recommend the best you can afford. Your call as to whether it would help or not.
    paulwv and Oldgungeezer like this.
    "He that hath no sword, let him sell his garment & buy one" Jesus - Luke 22:36

Member #
    Liked
    15893 times
    1x red dot is fine for short distances. Vortex, Primary Arms and Holosun are decent budget priced. For those who suffer astigmatism 1x "prism" are an option.

LPVO (low power variable optic) typically 1-4x and 1-6x are popular. There are too many budget makers to list.