+ Reply to Thread
    Member #
    Liked
    12 times

.22 WMR Magnum in a M53 .22 Jet?

I found some reasonably priced spare .22 RF inserts and I'm considering boring them out from .223 to .246 (+ clearance) to fire .22 magnums. I'm a reasonably experienced hobby machinist with a good accurate old South bend 9" lathe.

Making them from scratch would be rather challenging but I believe I can bore out some original inserts accurately. By the way, I know there are some real bad quality after-market inserts out there. These are S&W made.

I have to believe this has been tried many times before. Does anyone have experience with this or know of it being done successfully?
    Properly cared for, a good gun will last a lifetime, and several more as well!

Member #
    Liked
    7684 times

Re: .22 WMR Magnum in a M53 .22 Jet?

Quote Originally Posted by jamo002
    I found some reasonably priced spare .22 RF inserts
    I didn't think there was such a thing
    My friends call me 'Mick'
    Save the Second Amendment, take a kid shooting!

Member #
    Liked
    73 times

Mick, there was a handful on Gunbroker recently... I already had a few extras so I passed on them... were around $25 when last I looked.

About the only good thing I can say about this conversion is that shooting the resulting conversion would be a little cheaper than firing the .22 Magnum Center Fire, aka "The Jet".

Last box I saw for sale on the open market was from the last Remington run in the 80's... fella wanted $150 a box!
    ".... Evil Flourishes When Good Men Do Nothing...."

Member #
    Liked
    305 times

I believe that I would stick with centerfire and go the case-forming route, instead - by ordering the expensive dies from RCBS. There is no shortage of the parent case, and I understand that the .22 Jet is an awesome cartridge to reload.