Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By JStover
  • 1 Post By Wiregrassguy

Thread: S&W 32 WCF CTG w/ Pearl Handle

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

S&W 32 WCF CTG w/ Pearl Handle

I'm new to hand guns and forums, so please bear with me.

Trying to help my father-in-law out. He inherited a S&W hand gun from his father that has "32 WCF CTG" printed on the barrel. The gun has a pearl handle and is nickle plated (I believe). There are 2 different serial numbers on the gun; bottom of barrel = 91160, inside of cylinder = 66459. The plating is not in the best of shape. I found a photo of a similar hand gun on line which suggests it may be a Model 1905.

Can anyone direct me where I can find out some information on this gun such as when it was made, what is it worth and is it worth having it reconditioned for my father-in-law (and if yes - approximately how much would that cost)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Name:  IMG_0716.jpg
Views: 1666
Size:  100.7 KB
    Wiregrassguy likes this.

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    13991 times
    to the forum from the Wiregrass! You have a S&W .32-20 (Winchester Center Fire) 1905 4th change revolver. The serial number under the barrel should match the number on the face of the cylinder and the butt of the frame. You may have to take the grips off to see the SN on the butt. Be careful, because those grips are fragile. Nice grips by the way. Your gun was shipped in the early thirties..

If you refinish the gun, it will lose any collector value it may have. However, it is not a very valuable gun in the first place. Getting it reblued will cost around $200 from apwcogan.com.
    Guy

S&WCA #2629 | Ex-Navy Vietnam Vet. / Submariner | NRA Member

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    3698 times